Separate ophthalmology department started functioning in 1994 with

• CPS diploma and DNB started in 2001-02.

• University degree and diploma started in 2010.

• MCI PG recognised in 2015.


1. Diagnosis and treatment of all types of Eye patients.

2. Good quality education to MBBS and PG students

3. Good research work.

4. Active participation in community work.


To make available the state of art of diagnostic and treatment facility of all Eye disorders.

To become best ophthalmology department for UG and PG teaching in Maharashtra state.



The undergraduate course ophthalmology aims at imparting knowledge and skills to students enabling them to practice as a clinical and primary eye care physician.


(4 MS out of 1 is saction 3 is permited).

Our goal is to preserve and restore vision through excellence in provision of eye care services, medical education and clinical research preparing for the future eye care, our department provides outstanding resident education to train the ophthalmologists of tomorrow, while performing research that will influence the future management of eye disease.

Internship training

It is mandatory to complete 1 yrs internship after passing MBBS internship includes 15 days of training under the department of ophthalmology. Interns are posted in OPD & OT as per the guidelines of MCI & MUHS Nashik. This kind of training help the students to understand various problems of eye disease.


Department of ophthalmology provides specialised care to all eye patients in the form of super speciality clinics in Cornea, Relina, Glaucoma, Squint & Neuro-Opthalmology Apart from this varius eye camps are organized under District Blindness Control Society and also fro Hospital to reduce the Cataract load in rural area.

Other Services

Department is involved in varius research projects in the form of PG Dissertations and some independent researches by department faculty members, Seminars, Journal Clubs, Group Discussions and case Discussion and Conducted in departmental seminar room only second working govt eye book in Marathwada Region Referrals from all Marathwada adjoining Vidarbha & AP regions.


Organization Structure of Department

One unit sectioned.

1. Head of the department Prof. Dr. V.M. Sahasrabudhe
2. Asso. Prof. Dr. Sohel Khan
3. Asso. Prof. Dr. Snehal Burkale
4. Asso. Prof. Dr. Poonam Kalyanpad
5. Sv. Resident Dr. Vaibhav Dasarwar
6. Registrar Dr. Mohini Singh
7. HO Dr. Sonali Singanwad
Dr. Pankaj Joshi
8. JR III (2 post) Dr. Sanjali Tadas
Dr. Sneha Waghmare
9. JR II (4 post) Dr. Rucha Godbolel Dr. Kranti Kshirsagar
Dr. Pranju Tadas
Dr. Sadhana Bharose
10. JR I (4 post) Dr. Shraddha Gaul
Dr. Rohini Kawadkar
Dr. Zeenal Dabre
Dr. Jaya Kashid


Awards & Achievements

Awards- Dr. V.M. Sahasrabudhe

Bell Pharma best parper award 2002 MOS Conf.

Best Teacher Award-2007-08

Special citation award by centre for sight Hyderabad 2015

Special Award by Rotary Club of Nanded 2014

Several certificates for Active Participation in Eye Camps, Rashtriya Bal Swasthya Karyankaram etc.

Dr. V M Sahasrabuddhe is awarded with Best teacher award 2019 By Hon. Guardian Minister

Dr. Sohel Khan is awarded with BOA Quiz winner first position BOA 2017

ISMSICS Quiz 2018 first AIOC Gurugram Haryana Feb 2020 Big Stand off Shallenging Video Symposium. Best Video Award first position and Best Technique Award 1st Position

• Total 14 Papers published by Department members in different publications

• Our facilities appeared as guests lecturer in different States & National level conference.

• Our PG published papers & posters in States & National level.



Sr.No Name Photo Designation Contact
1. Dr.VM Sahastrabuddhe Prof & Head of Dept 9823392565
2. Dr. Sohel Khan Ass. Professor 9890131920
3. Dr. Snehal Burkule Ass. Professor 9130697305
4. Poonam Kalyanpad Assistant Professor 8600382100